Why Do People Love Obsidian So Much

A deep dive into the reasons behind the app’s loyal user base

Prakash Joshi Pax
4 min readAug 21, 2024

A recent survey by Stack overflow revealed an interesting trend. Among the tools and technologies developers want to use, Markdown files stood out as a top choice alongside Obsidian.

What caught my attention was this statement:

Obsidian users have no desire to try any other asynchronous tools next year, and nine different groups of asynchronous tools users would like to switch to see why next year.

Are Obsidian users really this loyal?

After reading this, I noticed something with myself as well.

It was around 2021 when I started using Obsidian. I used Notion before that.

Due to lack of offline support and sluggish user experience, I was looking for an alternative. I would jump into any new app that came to market.

I tried almost every app that that flood the market.

Finally, I came across Obsidian and started using it. I was not excited about using Obsidian in the beginning. It appeared as a simple app.

--

--

Prakash Joshi Pax

Avid Reader| Writer| Observer| On a journey to be a Better Self| If you follow, you will never feel hollow. Writings on PKM • Tools • Personal Growth • Money