How to Use Obsidian For Task Management

Beginner friendly guide

Prakash Joshi Pax
6 min readDec 1, 2022
Task management in obsidian

For the longest time, I was afraid of using obsidian as a task manager. ‘I’ll just use it as a note-taking app. Only for knowledge management.”, I thought. But boy, I was wrong.

I’m using obsidian as a task manager for a few weeks now. And I can vouch that it's the decision I made. For people out there, who think obsidian can’t be a good task manager, you’re wrong. It’s the best in my experience, especially if you use obsidian extensively for knowledge management.

In this article, I will guide how to set up a task management system in obsidian. By the end of this article, you will learn:

  • How to set up obsidian as a task manager
  • Automatically move rolled tasks
  • How to view all your tasks in a calendar view

The Most important thing

You know that obsidian is not a good choice for fleeting notes. It doesn’t serve any purpose in my task capture system.

You need other apps that can help you capture tasks. I use TickTick as my task capture system. It's free and has almost all the features I need. I can quickly capture my tasks and thoughts on the go, both on my phone as well as laptop.

--

--

Prakash Joshi Pax

Avid Reader| Writer| Observer| On a journey to be a Better Self| If you follow, you will never feel hollow. Writings on PKM • Tools • Personal Growth • Money