How To Sync Obsidian Notes Across Different Devices For Free

This method works like charm.

Prakash Joshi Pax
5 min readFeb 19, 2022
Created by author

Obsidian is one of the best things I discovered in 2021. I consume a lot of content. And like many others, I struggled to remember what I consumed.

That’s when I learned about building a second brain, an extension of your brain. You externalize all ideas and information that you want to remember.

As David Allen said:

Your brain is for having ideas not holding them.

What is Obsidian

Obsidian is a free, open-source, markdown personal knowledge management software that you can use as you like. Moreover, it is local and works offline. That’s one of the biggest advantages it offers over other apps like the notion, Evernote, roam research, etc.

One of the biggest problems, I faced when they launched for multiple platforms was the sync feature.

I couldn’t afford their sync feature($10/month). So I looked for other free alternatives. I tried syncing across devices with google drive, one drive, Dropbox, FolderSync, and many other options.

But the one I stayed with was syncthing. It works like charm for syncing your obsidian notes across different devices.

--

--

Prakash Joshi Pax

Avid Reader| Writer| Observer| On a journey to be a Better Self| If you follow, you will never feel hollow. Writings on PKM • Tools • Personal Growth • Money