How to Publish Your Obsidian Notes Online For Free

Cost-free alternative to obsidian publish that’s equally good

Prakash Joshi Pax
5 min readMay 20, 2022

Obsidian has changed how I handle information and ideas. I bet there’s no better software than obsidian for personal knowledge management.

It is excellent for writing and storing your notes, but not so much for reading. That’s when obsidian publishes came to the rescue. This service allows users to publish their notes online. Obsidian publish has a better reading experience than the app itself. And also the benefit of sharing your ideas online.

Obsidian publish is great. But, since I’m not able to afford its hefty price of $20/month, I had to look for another alternative. I found a few alternatives for obsidian publish, but not all of them were the same. Some had few good features while some lacked them.

After a few looks here and there I decided to settle with Mathieu Dutour’s Gatsby Digital Garden template.

Being a non-coder, I had to go through a lot of trial & error to set this up. Here’s the end result of my site.

In this step-by-step guide, I will show you how you can publish your obsidian notes online for free.

Step 1: Install the necessary Apps

--

--

Prakash Joshi Pax

Avid Reader| Writer| Observer| On a journey to be a Better Self| If you follow, you will never feel hollow. Writings on PKM • Tools • Personal Growth • Money